Gravity of Unity

Posted on


“Everything in this universe attracts others with a force which is proportional to the product of their masses and inversely proportional to the square of the distance in between.”

Every item of this entire universe is attracting the others but according to the myth the force of attraction keeps on decreasing as things keep on becoming distant. I was in my high school when I first read this law and I remember myself asking me the very obvious question that if I am being attracted by the objects around, why don’t I feel that attraction? Apparently the forces tend to cancel out each other being equal in magnitude and opposite in direction.  But I completely neglected one very obvious part of the myth.

It was the night of 27th of Ramadan and religiously it’s considered to be a very precious night. People tend to worship the entire night and ask for forgiveness, success, love, money and happiness believing that all the things would be granted to them for just worshipping one single night. Seeing all the people getting busy in their worships, I always ask myself how should I worship or after reward of what service should I be asking for missing and shuffled pieces of my life.

I was sitting in my room when my cousin called me and informed that he’s picking me up on his way to Badshahi Mosque, a highly ranked Mughal heritage of subcontinent situated in Pakistan. I don’t happen to be a conventionally religious person and tried to resist it but eventually had to give up. A lot of other people also came there to religiously celebrate and spend the night in worship. Not everyone was worshipping, some were just roaming around like me enjoying the beautiful mosque, the amazing interiors and a beautiful architecture telling the story of hundreds of years.

While roaming around when I looked at all the people, I felt a strange and a strong bond between all the children, men and women. They weren’t there for any personal reason, they weren’t there because they had any business with each other, they weren’t forced to get there rather they were there for something bigger than the materialistic needs. They were all there to celebrate some sacred moments, though separately but like the flow of individual particles which seem to make a bigger united flow when they are seen from some distance. Like individual drops of water travelling in the same direction unaware of the fact that they are the flow of one single ocean.

For all the Muslims, it’s compulsory to perform Pilgrimage atleast once in a lifetime, which happen to be the largest and the most marvelous and sacred gathering of people in one place in Mecca and people often tell that the journey changed them and their lives altogether putting them in entirely different dimension. And I always used to question the authority of that statement. But that day I realized that it could be true because that day I probably discovered the neglected part of the myth of attraction between objects of the universe that says that attraction goes on decreasing as the distance increases. I had never been closer to those people but when I got a bit closer, it felt different and probably the people performing Pilgrimage speak true when they describe the journey as a marvelous spiritual journey and probably people speak true of loving each other when they get closer to each other because the myth dictates that force of attraction dominates in these circumstances.

Whether it is good or evil, whether life in itself is pain or pleasure, whether it is uncertain-that it may perhaps be this is not important-but the unity of the world, the coherence of all events, the embracing of the big and the small from the same stream, from the same law of cause, of becoming and dying.

Leave a Reply

