Moonwalking with Einstein

Posted on


emo034

Hearing the word ‘moonwalk’ triggers the memory of Michael Jackson performing the illusion of going backwards while actually moving forward. However Moonwalking with Einstein triggers a question like what the hell are we exactly talking about?

This triggering game is a very classic of mind’s games. While discussing something with a group of people around, I actually tell my brain to trigger the correct names, dates, locations and sequences. At times, it presents the contents right in time while at others, well hats off to smartphones, laptops and availability of internet.

But taking assistance for something you should have at your fingertips feels like using a cheat code while playing some game. You read some book and by the time you finish all the detailed chapters, it happens sometimes, all you are left with is just an overview synopsis of the entire story. When it happens to me, I ask myself just to read the overview from now on. What’s the point of reading the entire detailed book when in the end all I will be left with is just the overview of the entire story?

Luckily I didn’t quit reading when one day I read a title Moonwalking with Einstein. The ‘overview’ said that it’s about an ordinary journalist who happened to cover the mnemonic competition held at Oxford University got inspired by some geeks expert in remembering and recalling anything and everything in no time and he ended up winning the championship.

The idea of remembering and recalling anything and everything glared my brain and I started reading the book. Though the book was more like the autobiography of the author but in the end it came clear to me that if I have to be good to at making my mind obeying the orders of triggering memories, I must really practice the following advice.

None of the techniques of memory sharpening will work unless you start ‘Paying Attention’ to what you are going through. 😀

Leave a Reply

